Who designed the building?

Pierre-Louis Faloci*, associated with the Technip TPS design firm, won the architectural competition on 1 June 2001. Ground was broken in August and the items in the museum exhibits were set up in summer 2005. President Jacques Chirac inaugurated the European Centre of Deported Resistance Members on 3 November 2005. The ceremony closed the year commemorating the 60th anniversary of the liberation of the Nazi camps.

*Paris-based French architect. Graduated in 1975. Teaches at the Paris-Belleville architecture school. Buildings include  the courthouse in Avesnes-sur-Helpe; new city hall in Nice; media library, covered market and market square in Meudon-la-Forêt (92); Notre-Dame de la Sagesse chapel, Paris 13th; Museum of Celtic Civilisation and European Archaeological Centre in Mont Beuvray, winner of the Silver T-Square Prize in 1996 ; remodeling of the Rodin Museum chapel in 2005.